Twitter @DropitProject




Coordinator. The University of Valencia was founded in 1499.  It is one of the oldest, largest and most important universities in Spain and includes 92 departments and 16 research institutes. UVEG is within the top three universities in the global Spanish rank (teaching-research-innovation). The research Institute of Materials Science of the University of Valencia (ICMUV) was created in 1995 from the union of several research groups of the Chemistry and Physics Faculties.

The Unit of Materials and Optoelectronic Devices (UMDO) within the ICMUV has 4 permanent staff members, 3 senior researchers and several PhD students as well as a yearly budget above 200.000 € per year. Since 1999 the UMDO group conducts investigations in the optical properties of semiconductor quantum nanostructures, from ensemble to single.

The University of Barcelona (UB) is the second largest university in Spain, with more than 70 bachelor degrees and more than 150 master programs. The offer includes basic science, applied life sciences, as well as social sciences.  In 2006, the University of Barcelona created the Institute of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology (IN2UB), which has as the aim to coordinate multidisciplinary research activities carried out by several research groups of this institution. The research group of ‘Micro- and Nanoscopies and Nanotechnologies for Electronic and Photonic Devices’ (MIND) belongs to this institute.  Our main research activities are devoted to the fabrication and characterization of electronic and photonic materials, as well as the design, fabrication and test of electronic, optoelectronic and photonic devices, integrated circuits and systems.

The research Institute of Advanced Materials at the University Jaume I (UJI-INAM) created by ‘Generalitat Valenciana’ on May, 4th 2015, is a centre of interdisciplinary science and technology in the fields of physics, chemistry, and related areas, applied to advanced materials, with vocation towards the progress of the socioeconomic environment and scientific excellence with international influence and impact. UJI-INAM activities are focused in three main areas: energy, optoelectronics, and catalysis. This center works on physical chemical understanding of advanced materials properties and operation, from molecules and interfaces to bulk compounds, connecting matter and light, to create new knowledge that bridges the gap between materials and devices. UJI-INAM focus on paving the role for new functional materials that generate applications in clean energy supply and storage, lighting, and the creation of chemicals of high added value.

ETH Zurich (ETHZ), a university for science and technology, dates back to the year 1855. Nowadays, ETHZ is consistently ranked among the top universities in the world. 21 Nobel Prizes have been awarded to researchers who have or had a connection with ETHZ. ETHZ research principles include co-operations with industry and research institutions: 407 spin-off companies have been created since 1996 and about 90 patent applications plus 200 invention reports are created every year. The Department of Chemistry and Applied Biosciences (D-CHAB) has a long and proud history at ETHZ. The research activities of the Functional Inorganic Materials Group in D-CHAB cover various aspects of chemical synthesis, surface functionalization, self-assembly and applications of colloidal nanostructures and bulk inorganic compounds, being among the pioneers for the synthesis of colloidal lead halide perovskite nanocrystals. The group’s goals are to develop novel functional materials for opto-electronic and energy storing purposes.

Created in 1966, INSA Rennes is a member of the INSA Group, the leading French network of state graduate and post graduate engineering schools. The annual budget of INSA Rennes is about 40 million euros. There are about 1700 students whose 66 in Research Master Degree and 154 Ph.D. and more 500 staff members. Research and innovation are the key elements of INSA training, with six laboratories of international renown, three technological platforms and numerous industrial partners, INSA Rennes stands out for two poles of excellence: Information &Communication Science &Technologies / Materials, Structures & Mechanics. 

CNRS was funded in 1939 and it is a government-funded research organization under the administrative authority of France's Ministry of Research. CNRS research units are spread throughout France, and employ a large body of permanent researchers, engineers, technicians, and administrative staff. The FOTON laboratory conducts research in the area of photonics for information technology. It deals with an unusual large variety of research areas in the optics sector of the telecommunications industry: "from the atom to telecommunication systems".

Saule Research Institute (SRI) was established in 2017, with the aim of becoming an international hub of scientists focused on research in the field of optoelectronics. Understanding the importance of applied science and their related fundamental aspects, as inseparable ingredients of successful R&D processes, SRI aims to be a connecting entity between  basic research and industry.

Saule Technologies was established in 2014, as one of the first companies in the world working on the commercialization of perovskites in the new generation of photovoltaic cells. The company has pioneered the application of ink-jet printing for the fabrication of flexible, light-weight, perovskite solar modules. Saule Technologies has well-equipped facilities, with a range of deposition and characterization tools at disposal. Currently, there are 6 laboratories with 2 of them having cleanroom conditions,   is a team of more than 20 scientists coming from 11 countries, working in one of the most advanced optoelectronics laboratories in Europe. The company has  to develop cost-competitive and versatile solar energy harvesting technology.

DROP-IT has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 FET-OPEN research programme under grant agreement No 862656.